Section 32-5A-285 Statewide bicycle safety education program; manner violations handled.
It is the legislative intent to implement an effective statewide bicycle safety education
program to reduce disability and death resulting from improper or unsafe bicycle operation.
Violations of Section 32-5A-283 shall be handled in the following manner: (1) On the first
offense, the police officer shall counsel and provide written information to the child relative
to bicycle helmet safety. The officer shall instruct the child to deliver the written
information to the parent. (2) On the second offense, the police officer shall counsel the
child and provide written information on bicycle helmet safety. A warning citation
shall be issued to the child to give to the parent. The citation shall instruct the parent
or guardian to contact the police department for further information about the law and where
to obtain a bicycle helmet. (3) Beginning on July 1, 1996, upon a third offense, the
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-285.htm - 2K - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-283 Unlawful for person to use bicycle under certain conditions. It is
unlawful for any person to use a bicycle on a public roadway, public bicycle
path, other public rights-of-way, state, city, or county public park under any one of the
following conditions: (1) For any person under the age of 16 years to operate or be a passenger
on a bicycle unless at all times the person wears a protective bicycle helmet
of good fit, fastened securely upon the head with the straps of the helmet. (2) For any person
to operate a bicycle with a passenger who weighs less than 40 pounds or is less than
40 inches in height unless the passenger is properly seated in and adequately secured in a
restraining seat. (3) For any parent or legal guardian of a person under the age of 16 years
to knowingly permit the person to operate or be a passenger on a bicycle in violation
of subdivision (1) or (2). (Acts 1995, No. 95-198, p. 306, §4.)...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-283.htm - 1K - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-263 Riding on roadways and bicycle paths; right side signalling. (a) Every
person operating a bicycle upon a roadway shall ride as near to the right side of the
roadway as practicable, exercising due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding
in the same direction. (b) Persons riding bicycles upon a roadway shall not ride more than
two abreast except on paths or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.
(c) Wherever a usable path for bicycles has been provided adjacent to a roadway, bicycle
riders shall use such path and shall not use the roadway. (d) A person riding a bicycle
may give a hand signal for a right turn by extending his or her right arm and hand horizontally
on the right side of the bicycle. A child under the age of sixteen shall not be required
to comply with the right side signalling. (Acts 1980, No. 80-434, p. 604, §12-105; Act 2012-220,
p. 398, §1.)...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-263.htm - 1K - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-281 Definitions. As used in this article, the following words shall have the
following meanings: (1) BICYCLE. A human-powered vehicle with two wheels in tandem
design to transport by the act of pedaling one or more persons seated on one or more saddle
seats on its frame. "Bicycle" includes, but is not limited to, a human-powered
vehicle designed to transport by the act of pedaling which has more than two wheels when the
vehicle is used on a public roadway, public bicycle path, or other public road or right-of-way,
but does not include a tricycle. (2) OPERATOR. A person who travels on a bicycle seated
on a saddle seat from which that person is intended to and can pedal the bicycle. (3)
OTHER PUBLIC RIGHT-OF-WAY. Any right-of-way other than a public roadway or public bicycle
path that is under the jurisdiction and control of the state or a local political subdivision
thereof. (4) PASSENGER. Any person who travels on a bicycle in any manner except as
an operator. (5)...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-281.htm - 2K - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-286 Establishment of more comprehensive bicycle safety program by ordinance.
A municipality may establish a more comprehensive bicycle safety program than that
imposed by this article by local ordinance. (Acts 1995, No. 95-198, p. 306, §7.)...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-286.htm - 563 bytes - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-282 Purpose. The purpose of this article is to reduce the incidence of disability
and death resulting from injuries incurred in bicycling accidents by requiring that, while
riding on a bicycle on public roadways, public bicycle paths, or other public
rights-of-way, all operators and passengers who are under 16 years of age to wear approved
protective bicycle helmets, and by requiring that all bicycle passengers who
weigh less than 40 pounds or are less than 40 inches in height be seated in separate restraining
seats. (Acts 1995, No. 95-198, p. 306, §3.)...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-282.htm - 882 bytes - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-284 Duties of person regularly engaged in business of renting bicyles. (a) A
person regularly engaged in the business of renting bicycles shall require each person seeking
to rent a bicycle to provide his or her signature either on the rental form or on a
separate form indicating both of the following: (1) Receipt of a written explanation of the
provisions of this article and the penalties for violations. (2) A statement concerning whether
a person under the age of 16 years will operate the bicycle in an area where the use
of a helmet is required. (b) A person regularly engaged in the business of renting bicycles
shall provide a helmet to any person who will operate the bicycle in an area requiring
a helmet, if the person does not already have a helmet in his or her possession. A reasonable
fee may be charged for the helmet rental. (c) A person regularly engaged in the business of
selling or renting bicycles who complies with this article shall not be liable in a civil...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-284.htm - 1K - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-261 Riding on bicycles. (a) A person propelling a bicycle shall not ride
other than upon or astride a permanent and regular seat attached thereto. (b) No bicycle
shall be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed and
equipped. (Acts 1980, No. 80-434, p. 604, §12-103.)...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-261.htm - 639 bytes - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-265 Lamps and other equipment on bicycles. (a) Every bicycle when in use
at nighttime shall be equipped with a lamp on the front which shall emit a white light visible
from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front and with a red reflector on the rear of
a type approved by the department which shall be visible from all distances from 100 feet
to 600 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of head lamps on a motor
vehicle. A lamp emitting a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear may be
used in addition to the red reflector. (b) Every bicycle shall be equipped with a brake
which will enable the operator to make the braked wheels skid on dry, level, clean pavement.
(Acts 1980, No. 80-434, p. 604, §12-107.)...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-265.htm - 1K - Match Info - Similar pages
Section 32-5A-93 Law enforcement officers authorized to operate motorized bicycle, mopeds,
etc., on streets, highways, and sidewalks. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this
title, or any other provision of law, a sworn officer of any law enforcement agency may operate
a motorized bicycle or moped or any two-wheeled or three-wheeled device having fully
operative pedals for propulsion by human power or any other device capable of a maximum speed
of 45 miles per hour upon the streets and highways of this state and upon sidewalks. (b) Any
vehicles or other devices marked as law enforcement vehicles or devices and operated by sworn
law enforcement officers are exempt from all licensing, equipment, and other requirements
provided by law in this state for the operation of vehicles upon the streets and highways
of this state. (Act 2009-719, p. 2138, §1.)...
alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/32-5A-93.htm - 1K - Match Info - Similar pages