Code of Alabama

Search for this:
 Search these answers
1 through 10 of 667 similar documents, best matches first.
  Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   next>>

Section 32-5A-330 Definitions; applicability; violations. (a) As used in this section, the
following terms are defined: (1) OPEN CONTAINER. A container which is other than in the manufacturer's
sealed condition. (2) PUBLIC HIGHWAY or RIGHT-OF-WAY OF A PUBLIC HIGHWAY. The entire width
between and immediately adjacent to the boundary lines of any public road, street, highway,
interstate, or other publicly maintained way when any part is open to the use of the public
for purposes of motor vehicle travel. (b) It is unlawful for a person to have in his or her
possession alcoholic beverages in an open container in the passenger area of a motor vehicle
of any kind on a public highway or right-of-way of a public highway of this state. (c) This
section shall not apply to: (1) A passenger of a motor vehicle designed, maintained, or primarily
used for the transportation of persons for compensation and the driver holds a valid commercial
driver's license. (2) A passenger of a bus for which the... - 2K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 32-1-1.1 Definitions. The following words and phrases when used in this title, for
the purpose of this title, shall have meanings respectively ascribed to them in this section,
except when the context otherwise requires: (1) ALLEY. A street or highway intended to provide
access to the rear or side of lots or buildings in urban districts and not intended for the
purpose of through vehicular traffic. (2) ARTERIAL STREET. Any United States or state numbered
route, controlled-access highway, or other major radial or circumferential street or highway
designated by local authorities within their respective jurisdictions as part of a major arterial
system of streets or highways. (3) AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLE. Such fire department vehicles,
police vehicles, and ambulances as are publicly owned, and such other publicly or privately
owned vehicles as are designated by the Secretary of the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency
or the chief of police of an incorporated city. (4) BICYCLE.... - 22K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 32-5A-171 Maximum limits. Except when a special hazard exists that requires lower speed
for compliance with Section 32-5A-170, the limits hereinafter specified or established as
hereinafter authorized shall be maximum lawful speeds, and no person shall drive a vehicle
at a speed in excess of the maximum limits. (1) No person shall operate a vehicle in excess
of 30 miles per hour in any urban district. (2)a. No person shall operate a motor vehicle
in excess of 35 miles per hour on any unpaved road. For purposes of this chapter the term
unpaved road shall mean any highway under the jurisdiction of any county, the surface of which
consists of natural earth, mixed soil, stabilized soil, aggregate, crushed sea shells, or
similar materials without the use of asphalt, cement, or similar binders. b. No person shall
operate a motor vehicle on any county-maintained paved road in an unincorporated area of the
state at a speed in excess of 45 miles per hour unless a different maximum speed... - 4K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 13A-11-61.2 Possession of firearms in certain places. (a) In addition to any other
place limited or prohibited by state or federal law, a person, including a person with a permit
issued under Section 13A-11-75(a)(1) or recognized under Section 13A-11-85, may not knowingly
possess or carry a firearm in any of the following places without the express permission of
a person or entity with authority over the premises: (1) Inside the building of a police,
sheriff, or highway patrol station. (2) Inside or on the premises of a prison, jail, halfway
house, community corrections facility, or other detention facility for those who have been
charged with or convicted of a criminal or juvenile offense. (3) Inside a facility which provides
inpatient or custodial care of those with psychiatric, mental, or emotional disorders. (4)
Inside a courthouse, courthouse annex, a building in which a district attorney's office is
located, or a building in which a county commission or city council is... - 8K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 8-20-4 Unfair and deceptive trade practices. Notwithstanding the terms, provisions,
or conditions of any dealer agreement or franchise or the terms or provisions of any waiver,
prior to the termination, cancellation, or nonrenewal of any dealer agreement or franchise,
the following acts or conduct shall constitute unfair and deceptive trade practices: (1) For
any manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, or wholesaler, distributor
branch, or distributor representative to coerce or attempt to coerce any motor vehicle dealer
to do any of the following: a. To accept, buy, or order any motor vehicle or vehicles, appliances,
equipment, parts, or accessories therefor, or any other commodity or commodities or service
or services which such motor vehicle dealer has not voluntarily ordered or requested except
items required by applicable local, state, or federal law; or to require a motor vehicle dealer
to accept, buy, order, or purchase such items in order to... - 34K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 40-23-4 Exemptions. (a) There are exempted from the provisions of this division and
from the computation of the amount of the tax levied, assessed, or payable under this division
the following: (1) The gross proceeds of the sales of lubricating oil and gasoline as defined
in Sections 40-17-30 and 40-17-170 and the gross proceeds from those sales of lubricating
oil destined for out-of-state use which are transacted in a manner whereby an out-of-state
purchaser takes delivery of such oil at a distributor's plant within this state and transports
it out-of-state, which are otherwise taxed. (2) The gross proceeds of the sale, or sales,
of fertilizer when used for agricultural purposes. The word "fertilizer" shall not
be construed to include cottonseed meal, when not in combination with other materials. (3)
The gross proceeds of the sale, or sales, of seeds for planting purposes and baby chicks and
poults. Nothing herein shall be construed to exempt or exclude from the computation of... - 34K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 40-17-350 Transportation of motor fuel; inspections. (a) Each person operating a refinery
or terminal in Alabama shall prepare and provide to the driver of every highway vehicle receiving
motor fuel at the facility a shipping document setting out on its face the destination state
as represented to the terminal operator by the shipper or the shipper's agent. Failure to
comply with this subsection may result in a department imposed penalty of not less than five
hundred dollars ($500) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), to be multiplied by the
sum of the current violation plus prior violations of this subsection. (b) Every person transporting
motor fuel in Alabama in a highway vehicle other than in its supply tank shall carry on board
a shipping document issued by the facility where the motor fuel was obtained. The shipping
document shall set out on its face the state of destination of the motor fuel transported
in the highway vehicle. Violation of this subsection... - 14K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 37-3-20 Tariffs of common carriers. (a) Every common carrier by motor vehicle shall
file with the commission and keep open to the public inspection tariffs showing all the rates,
fares and charges for transportation and all services in connection therewith of passengers
or property in intrastate commerce in the State of Alabama between points on its own route
and between points on its own route and points on the route of any other such carrier, or
on the route of any common carrier by railroad or express, or water, when a through route
and route and joint rate shall have been established. Such rates, fares and charges shall
be stated in terms of lawful money of the United States. The tariffs required by this section
shall be published, filed and posted in such form and manner and shall contain such information
as the commission by reasonable regulation shall prescribe; and the commission is authorized
to reject any tariff filed with it which is not in consonance with this... - 5K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 32-6-18 Penalties - Violations in general; disposition of funds. (a) Any person of
whom a driver's license is required, who drives a motor vehicle on a public highway in this
state without first having complied with this article or the rules and regulations promulgated
hereunder shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction shall be punished by a fine
of not less than ten dollars ($10) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100), to be fixed in
the discretion of the judge trying the case. In addition to all fines, fees, costs, and punishments
prescribed by law, there shall be imposed or assessed an additional penalty of fifty dollars
($50). This additional penalty of fifty dollars ($50) imposed pursuant to this subsection
shall be assessed in all criminal and quasi-criminal proceedings in municipal, district, and
circuit courts, including, but not limited to, final bond forfeitures, municipal ordinance
violations wherein the defendant is adjudged guilty or pleads guilty,... - 4K - Match Info - Similar pages

Section 32-5-78 Operation of dump truck on highway, road, or street with bed raised over a
20-degree angle. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following words shall have the
following meanings: (1) DUMP TRUCK. A motor vehicle which has a bed attached to the truck
which allows the front of the bed near the passenger compartment to be raised to over a 20-degree
angle to allow the load to be dumped from the rear of the bed. (2) HIGHWAY. Any public highway,
road, or municipal street. (b) A dump truck may not be driven on any highway of this state
with the bed of the truck raised to more than a 20-degree angle except when the dump truck
is actively engaged in dumping its load. (c) A violation of this section is a Class C misdemeanor
on the first offense. Any second or subsequent offense is a Class B misdemeanor. (d) This
section shall not be construed to repeal any other criminal law. Whenever conduct prohibited
by this section is also prohibited by any other provision of law, the... - 1K - Match Info - Similar pages

1 through 10 of 667 similar documents, best matches first.
  Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   next>>